FREE e-scribe now!

This week’s edition!

Local student selected for U.S. Senate Youth Program

Muna Mohamed of Lewiston and Andrew Sandweiss of Bangor have been selected as Maine’s delegates to the 53rd Annual United States Senate Youth Program. In March, Mohamed and Sandweiss will join 102 other students from across the country in spending a week in the nation’s capital, where they will have an opportunity to study the American political process first-hand.

Muna Mohamed attends Lewiston High School, where she serves as the Senior Class president and is the Student Representative for her School Board. She is involved with Mock Trial, the Civil Rights and Speech Teams and other projects and community service activities. She enjoys public speaking and says she found her voice after attending Seeds of Peace, a conflict resolution camp. Her future plans include pursuing her interests in education, political science and international affairs.

Andrew Sandweiss attends Bangor High School, where he serves as the Student Council President. He is editor of the school newspaper and co-captain of the Public Forum Debate team. He has authored a work of fiction, “The Peruvian Exposition,” and participates in local, national and international conferences and competitions. He was an invited speaker at the Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and Research’s climate change conference in Abu Dhabi. His passion is transportation and he intends to become an urban planner. He will attend Yale University in the fall of 2015.

“I have the honor and privilege of being the first delegate to the U.S. Senate Youth Program to have been elected to the U.S. Senate,” said Senator Susan Collins. “My commitment to public service was reinforced as a senior in high school when I was chosen as a delegate and traveled to Washington and met Senator Margaret Chase Smith, the first woman in history to be elected to both the House and the Senate. I am pleased that Muna and Andrew have been chosen to participate in this worthwhile program and look forward to meeting with them while they are in Washington, D.C.”

“I’m pleased to congratulate Muna and Andrew on being selected as this year’s Maine delegates to the United States Senate Youth Program,” said Senator Angus King, a member of the USSYP 2015 53rd annual Senate Advisory Committee. “This tremendous honor is a reflection of their leadership, commitment to public service and determination to help build a better America. I look forward to meeting them.”

Founded in 1962, the USSYP is fully funded by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, with the goal of raising awareness among young Americans about the role of the federal government and the importance of our democratic process. During their week in Washington, the students will visit Capitol Hill, the White House, the Pentagon, the State Department and the Supreme Court. They will also meet with Senators, cabinet officials and other government leaders. Delegates also receive a $5,000 college scholarship to help them pursue their future ambitions.

In addition to Senator King, the other members of the USSYP 2015 53rd annual Senate Advisory Committee are Senators Johnny Isakson of Georgia, Republican Co-Chair; Joe Manchin III of West Virginia, Democratic Co-Chair; Ron Johnson (R-WI); Mike Lee (R-UT); Lisa Murkowski (R-AK); Patrick J. Toomey (R-PA); Barbara Boxer (D-CA); Ben Cardin (D-MD) and Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI). Each year, the Honorary Co-Chairs of the program are the Vice President of the United States and the Senate Majority and Minority Leaders.

Leave a Reply

Contact Us!

89 Union Street, Suite 1014
Auburn, ME 04210
(207) 795-5017