FREE e-scribe now!

This week’s edition!

Founding LAC faculty member awarded emerita status

Among the sixteen retiring University of Southern Maine faculty and staff members who were awarded emeritus or emerita status at USM’s 134th Commencement this year was a founding faculty member of Lewiston-Auburn College.

Betty Robinson of Auburn, associate professor emerita of leadership and organizational studies, was an original faculty member when the college was founded in 1988. She later served as dean of the college from 1996-2003, a longer tenure than any other LAC dean. Her strong vision for LAC included developing a faculty committed to interdisciplinary learning, community connection and career preparation.

Robinson received a Faculty Senate University Service Award in 2012. In 2005, she was presented the Maine Campus Compact Donald Harward Service Learning Award for leadership in the promotion and application of service learning in teaching. In 2003, Governor John Baldacci, Congressman Michael Michaud and the Maine Legislature presented her with citations for contributions to higher education in Maine, while the City of Lewiston awarded her a citation for service as dean of LAC.

Among her publications are “E-leadership and E-learning,” published in the “Selected Proceedings of the 12th Annual International Leadership Association Conference,” held in Boston in 2010, and “Bringing ‘Worldmindedness’ to Leadership Education” in the summer 2005 edition of the International Journal of Leadership Education.

Robinson holds a B.A. in sociology from Colby College; an M.A. in sociology from the University of Maryland; and a Ph.D. in sociology from Boston University.

USM honors retirees of distinction each year by conferring them emeritus status, in recognition of their significant contributions to the university and community and to encourage their continuing valued service.

Leave a Reply

Contact Us!

89 Union Street, Suite 1014
Auburn, ME 04210
(207) 795-5017