FREE e-scribe now!

This week’s edition!

Auburn Winter Festival winners announced

The results are in, and once again the Auburn Winter Festival was a great success! The Auburn Winter Festival was held January 28 to February 6 with a wide variety of activities and fun for all ages.

The winners of the following events were:

“3 on 3 Pond Hockey,” sponsored by Tim Horton’s & Auburn Youth Hockey

Men’s Division:

Gold Medal: “Shake and Bake” (Randy Geoffroy, Scott Geoffroy, Craig Poulin, John Poulin, Jake Hall and Tom Guay)

Silver Medal: “The Knights” (Shon Collins, Aaron Rand, Brian Bilodeau, Scott Rodrigue and Sam Mayer)

Bronze Medal: “Team Power Play” (Dana Berube, Denis Berube, Dan Lebrun, Rich Donavan, Lane Feldman and Dave Ducharme)

Women’s Division:

Gold Medal: “Team Question Mark” (Amanda Ayotte, Claire Sabine, Melissa Bourgoin, Sara Kay and Holly Dezious)

Silver Medal: “The Ice Addicts” (Wendy Younk, Brenda Parker, Sue Kane, Vicky Lamonthe, Cindy Martin and Belinda Geoffroy)

“Really Ridiculous Relay Race”

First Place: “Lost Valley” (Nicole Nason, Elizabeth Roy, Emily Marron, Amy Marron, Krysty Brodru and Jeremy Gatcomb)

Second Place: “Missing Linc” (Lisa Boisvert, Ron Boisvert, Glenn King, Tiffany Boisvert, Brendon Whittaker and JustinMilair)

“Shovel Race”

Nor’easter Division (15 and over) Race 1: first place, Haley McConnell of Auburn; second place, Cindy McConnell of Auburn; third place, Justin Maclure of Hampton, N.H.

Race 2: first place, Cindy McConnell, second place, Danielle McConnell; third place, Haley McConnell.

Avalanche Division (14 and under) Race 1: first place, Caroline Payne of Cumberland; second place, Sarah Traister of North Yarmouth; third place, Christian Reed of Camden.

Race 2: first place, Caroling Payne; second place, Christian Reed; and third place, Sarah Traister.

“Children’s Sled Obstacle”

Glacier Division: (ages 6 to 11) first place, Aubree Reed of Camden; second place, Caden Reed of Camden; third place, Sage Bourgoin of Hampton, N.H.

Snowflake Division (ages 3 to 5) first place, Jaylei Bougoin of Hampton, N.H.; second place, Stella Smith of Auburn; third place, Ian Britt of Topsham; fourth place, Marshall Wall of Richmond.

“Winterbike Championship Race Series”

Winterbikes official photographer, Rich Obrey, has done an awesome job getting shots where the action was. Check out his pictures at

The winners of the Winterbike 4X race were:

Pro Men’s Division: first place, Mike Kent of Yarmouth; second place, Chris Eldridge of Harwich, Mass.; third place, Forest Wentworth of Orono; and fourth place, Derek Fox of Lewiston.

Pro Women’s Division: first place, Caitlyn Franciscovich of Concord, N.H.; second place, Becky Bagley of Sanford.

Amateur Division: first place, Cade Patten of Appleton; second place, Kris Anctil of Laconia, N.H.; third place, Andrew Trueworthy of Freeport; and fourth place, Rafael Ramos of Orono and Florida.

Juvies Division (15 and under): first place, Joseph Tibbets of Appleton; second place, Alex Mansins of Appleton.

“Snowshoe Races”

For the February 6 snowshoe races results and photos, see

On behalf of the Auburn Winter Festival committee, the City of Auburn would like to thank all participants in these events and hope they come back next year to defend their titles.

If you have not had the opportunity to participant in any of our events in the past, keep in mind you have a year to get your team together and strategize for the first-place award!

The city would also like to take this time to thank all who make this event successful each year. Without the sponsors and volunteers this event would not be possible. The Auburn Winter Festival would like to recognize and thank the following:

Auburn Public Works and Parks & Recreation Department; Lost Valley Ski Area; Tim Horton’s; Tambrands; Hilton Garden Inn Auburn River Watch; Mechanics Savings Bank; Gleason Radio Group; Encompass Marketing & Design; Federal Distributors/Shipyard; Central Maine Health Care; Gritty McDuff’s Brewing Co.; Le Passe Temps Club; Oxford Networks; Andy Valley Sno Gypsies; LA Trails; Auburn Public Library; Auburn Youth Hockey; Perkins Ridge Snow Travelers; Mac’s Grill; Margarita’s; Ernie’s Cycle Shop; L/A Optimists and the Lewiston MAINEiacs.

See you all next year at the 2012 Auburn Winter Festival, which will feature some new and exciting events!

One Response to “Auburn Winter Festival winners announced”

Leave a Reply

Contact Us!

89 Union Street, Suite 1014
Auburn, ME 04210
(207) 795-5017